National Honor Society » National Honor Society

National Honor Society

And while NHS membership is the true mark of academic achievement, it goes far beyond a report card. All student members must also reflect the program’s respective pillars to be inducted—ideals such as scholarship, service, leadership, and character—and they must continue demonstrating these pillars within their community throughout their membership.
Community service is one of the driving factors of the National honor society. Students must be committed to serving the greater good of the community. In the past we’ve served the school community through tutoring, toy drives, exam preparations and other areas of need. We have also done volunteer work at the local food bank. We’re looking to expand our volunteer opportunities to better our community. 
NHS is not all work. We do take educational and celebratory trips when possible. We have done several college trips, ice skating trips, and tours around the city. 

Students in grades 10–­­12 who meet the requirements for membership are eligible to be invited for membership.  The qualifications for membership are based on the four pillars of NHS:

  • Scholarship
    Per national guidelines, at a minimum, students must have a cumulative GPA of 90 or above
  • Service
    This involves voluntary contributions made by a student to the school or community, done without compensation.
  • Leadership
    Student leaders are those who are resourceful, good problem solvers, and idea contributors. Leadership experiences can be drawn from school or community activities while working with or for others.
  • Character
    The student of good character is cooperative; demonstrates high standards of honesty and reliability; shows courtesy, concern, and respect for others; and generally maintains a clean disciplinary record.

Students who meet the scholarship requirement will have an opportunity to complete a form detailing their accomplishments in and commitment to service, leadership, and character.

2023-2024 Officers
Elliot Persaud '24- President
Rafael Aragon '24- Vice President
Victoria Ekeijeh '24- Treasurer
Edda Rivera '26- Secretary
National Honor Society Advisor: